Graduate Council

The mission of the Graduate Council is to promote graduate education, scholarship, and research; to support individuals, departments, and programs in the pursuit of excellence; to foster innovative, multidisciplinary, and interdisciplinary activities; and to maintain high ethical and academic standards in graduate studies.

Click here to download the Bylaws of the Graduate School.

Click here to download the Database of Graduate Council Proposals

Click here to view the procedures that must be followed to request changes to graduate programs. 

Click here for guidelines for new dual degree programs, new certificate programs, and international initiatives 

Click here for sample memos of Graduate Council notification notices. 


Graduate Council Meeting Schedule

Academic Year 2017-2018

Time: 2:30pm
Location: 237 Ashe Administration Building

Fall 2017

Materials Due By

August 22 August 14
September 19 September 11
October 17 October 9
November 14 November 6

Spring 2018

Materials Due By

January 16 January 8
February 20 February 12
March 20 March 12
April 17 April 9

Graduate Council Members Academic Year 2017-2018


Council Member

Appointed until May 31 of year indicated below

Architecture Jean-Francois Lejeune
Alternate: TBA
Arts and Sciences Karl Gunther
Rebecca Shearer
Alternate: Ken Baker
Alternate: Jamie Walls
Business David Kelly
Alternate: Cecily Cooper
Communication Sallie Hughes
Alternate: Tyler Harrison
Education Kevin Jacobs
Alternate: Dan Santisteban
Engineering Qingda Yang
Alternate: Jie Xu
Marine and Atmospheric Science Igor Kamenkovich
Alternate: Diego Lirman
Medical Viviana Horigian
Alternate: Feng Gong
Music Corin Overland
Alternate: Gary Wood
Nursing and Health Studies Karina Gattamorta
Alternate: Yui Matsuda
Graduate Student Association Becca Yahr (Secretary) 2018

Dr. Guillermo J. Prado, Dean, Graduate School
Elizabeth Fish, Interim Associate Dean, University Libraries
Graduate Faculty Representatives to the Faculty Senate
Kenneth Voss, College of Arts and Sciences (2020)
Mitsunori Ogihara, College of Arts and Sciences (2019)
Kurt Schesser, Miller School of Medicine (2018)