# UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI GRADUATE SCHOOL



# The Graduate School's Annual Awards Celebration

2016-2017

Event Program April 13, 2017

## Thursday, April 13th 2017

- 5:00 p.m. Event Registration Opens Reception Begins
- 5:45 p.m. Welcoming Remarks by Dean Prado
  Special Recognition of Dr. Lawrence Morehouse
- 6:00 p.m. Winners Announced / Presentation of the Awards
  Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant
  Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant
  Graduate Student Exemplar
  Outstanding Graduate Program Director
  Faculty Mentor of the Year
- 6:30 p.m. Presentation of Certificates to Nominees
- 7:00 p.m. Reception Concludes

#### **Student Nominees**

#### **OUTSTANDING GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSISTANT**

This award recognizes a graduate student who has distinguished himself/herself in scholarly or research pursuits in a graduate program at UM. The award winner made a distinctive and discernible contribution to his/her field during his/her tenure or in the 2016-17 academic year.

Haluk Damgacioglu, Ph.D., Industrial Engineering

Brittney Ellzey, Ph.D., Mathematics

Xu Han, Ph.D., Chemistry

Busra Keles, Ph.D., Industrial Engineering

Shruti Khandelwal, M.S., Architecture

Bohdan Khomtchouk, Ph.D., Human Genetics and Genomics

Basar Koc, Ph.D., Computer Science

Eric Louderback, Ph.D., Sociology

Katherine Martin, Ph.D., Psychology

Vasileios Stathias, Ph.D., Human Genetics and Genomics

**Drewry Wofford,** Ph.D., History

#### **Student Nominees**

#### **OUTSTANDING GRADUATE TEACHING ASSISTANT**

This award recognizes a graduate student for enhancing undergraduate education at UM. The award winner demonstrated superior effectiveness or innovation as a teacher of undergraduates while serving as an instructor or teaching assistant in a classroom, laboratory, studio or other setting, and made significant professional development as a teacher.

Summer DeBastiani, Ph.D., Nursing

Sercan Demir, Ph.D., Industrial Engineering

Daniel Forster, Ph.D., Psychology

Dana Kaufman, D.M.A., Music Theory and Composition

Shruti Khandelwal, M.S., Architecture

Nelson Mastracci Marques, Ph.D., History

Brian Richter, Ph.D., Psychology

Lafayette Trey Watson, Ph.D., Exercise Physiology

#### GRADUATE STUDENT EXEMPLAR

This award recognizes a graduating student who excelled academically either by overcoming tremendous odds to be successful, or by consistently making contributions that benefited others. This student's service, leadership or other distinctive efforts were made to the campus, local, national or international community.

Lis-Marie Alvarado, MSED, Community and Social Change

Mehrad Bastani, Ph.D., Industrial Engineering

Gloria Schmitz, M.A., International Administration

### **Faculty Nominees**

#### **OUTSTANDING GRADUATE PROGRAM DIRECTOR**

This award recognizes a Graduate Program Director (GPD) who made a significant impact on graduate education, and/or in support of graduate students in his/her program during the 2016-17 academic year. The outstanding GPD may have made innovations and/or contributions to enhance curriculum, programming, recruitment, retention or placement.

Alex Wilson, Biology

Henrik Cronqvist, Finance

Burjor Captain, Chemistry

Juliano Laran, Marketing

#### **FACULTY MENTOR OF THE YEAR**

This award recognizes a faculty member who has shown tremendous commitment to mentoring, advising and supporting graduate student advisees during the 2016-17 academic year. This faculty member made distinctive efforts in mentoring and advising graduate students to 1) become professionals in their field, 2) shape the graduate work of a graduate student, or 3) provide exceptional personal support and development to a graduate student.

Hassan Al-Ali, Miami Project to Cure Paralysis

**Anabel Bejarano,** Educational & Psychological Studies

**Christopher Boardman,** Media Writing & Production

Jacklyn Collins, Accounting

Henrik Cronqvist, Finance

Alessia Fornoni, Medicine

Martin Grosell, Marine Biology & Ecology

Caglar Irmak, Marketing

William Johns, Ocean Sciences

Tulay Koru-Sengul, Public Health Sciences

Roger Leblanc, Chemistry

Debra Lieberman, Psychology

**Sarah Messiah,** Pediatrics and Public Health Sciences

Steven Safren, Pyschology

Kathleen Sealey, Biology

# SPECIAL RECOGNITION

# **Dr. Lawrence Morehouse President and CEO of the Florida Education Fund (FEF)**

The FEF's mission is to strengthen the larger community by creating and implementing programs and services that lead to institutional enhancement and greater educational advancement for historically underrepresented groups.

The FEF was funded initially by a major grant from the McKnight Foundation of Minneapolis, Minnesota, and, subsequently, a challenge grant from the Foundation, which required matching funds from the Florida Legislature. As a not-for-profit corporation established in 1984, the FEF has provided an avenue to ensure that educational advancement is possible. This quasi-public entity with a statewide mission and national impact, was originally known as the McKnight Programs in Higher Education and administered by the Florida Association of Colleges and Universities, which served as the forerunner to what is now known as the FEF.



Sourced from fefonline.org